Negarestan Garden is one of the tourist attractions of Tehran, located in the heart of Tehran. Built during the Qajar era in the 19th century, Negarestan Garden was the residence of the kings of the dynasty. Currently, the garden is a cultural-historical site where you can explore Persian architecture from the eighteenth to the nineteenth century and the museum dedicated to the famous artist Kamal-ol Molk, real name Mohammad Qaffari, who opened the school of fine arts in the garden complex from Negarestan. Currently, there are exhibitions of the works of Kamal-ol Molk and his students and his students’ students. Currently, the garden is a site with open pavilions, trees, canals, swimming pools, an open-air cafeteria, and a good quality restaurant both from the “Rouhi” restaurant chain. The hallways of the pavilions are decorated with mirrors, chandeliers, and gilded works.
Negarestan garden was built in 1802 under the orders of Fathali Shah who used the complex as his vacation residence. The coronation of the third king of Qajar took place in this garden. Later Negarestan garden was used as the headquarters of schools of agriculture, fine arts, and religion. With the passage of time, Negarestan garden was where the faculties of the University of Tehran began to teach. The complex has survived many events throughout its history. One of them was the partial destruction of the complex after the fall of the Kayar empire in the third decade of the twentieth century. But with the acquisition of the garden by the University of Tehran further destruction was prevented and the preservation of the complex until our time was ensured.