Lotfalian Museum is housed in a two-story historical house which was built during the reign of Fathali Shah in Qajar era. The house is 1200 sq.m and originally belonged to a Qajarid noble, named Mosaddegh-ol-molk. It was later purchased by Morteza Khan Lotfalian.
The house has different sections including Husseynieh, Interior (andarooni) and stables. Mr. Lotfalian converted the Husseynieh to an elaborate mansion.
Like many other Iranian historical houses, Lotfalian House has two courtyards: The exterior and the interior courtyards. It has a beautiful Shahneshin (master room) with colourful sash windows. The house also has a basement (called howz-khane) , with a stone fountain supplied with Qanat water, keeping it cool during the summertime.
After restoration, the house was converted to Malayer’s Museum of History & Culture and also the house of the local tourism and heritage board.